YURI PIBU Artichoke Power Essence Review

Hello everyone!

Today I’ll be reviewing YURI PIBU’s Artichoke Power Essence. This was one of those products that as soon as I saw it I knew I had to try it. But at 30-40$ for 40 ml of a product I’d never tried something even remotely close to, it was a bit out of my comfort zone (at least for a broke college girl like moi). Of course, my K-beauty fanatic self eventually persuaded me and a week later, there it was on my doorstep. So onto the review!

IMG_3981

The Superficial Stuff:

The packaging is very minimalist, but tasteful. It comes in a lightly frosted glass bottle with a screw-on dropper. Droppers are great (well, if they work well which this one does) because they stay with the bottle (no more lost spoons, no more washing spoons before use, and definitely much better than plain ol’ hands and fingers).

The essence itself is a soft white with a (delicious) creamy texture. It applies like a dream and absorbs effortlessly. It has a strong smell reminiscent of, well, I guess artichokes (but I’ve never exactly grabbed an artichoke and inhaled), but the smell dissipates within a minute or two after application. I personally can’t decide whether I like the smell or not…its got a good clean note to it but its pretty strong for me.

The Essence of the Essence:

First, I will not apologize for this section’s title.

Second, the ingredients list:

Artichoke Leaf Extract (60%), Witch Hazel Water, Glycerin, Coco-caprylate, Silica, Eclipta Prostra Extract, Sunflower Seed Oil, Zanthoxlylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Lichen Extract, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Beuthero Root Extract, Cathamus Tinctorius (Safflower Seed) Oil, Rose Flower Oil, Lavender Oil, Tea Tree Leaf Oil, Ceramide 3, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phytosphingosine, Yeast Polysaccharides, Cholesterol, Lecithin, Squalene, Glucoyl Ceramide, Keratin Amino Acids, Shea Butter, Tocopherol, Adenosine, Xanthan Gum, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Sclerotium Gum

The ingredients list on this product was one of the biggest selling points for me. Its pretty much like a unicorn in terms of its formulation. Artichoke makes up over sixty percent of the product which is amazing. Then that’s followed pretty much exclusively by various plant extracts to provide additional nutrients and moisture. With the exception of Tocopherol (italicized above), none of the ingredients pose much of a problem. See CosDNA analysis here. It also does not contain parabens or synthetic dyes/fragrances.

IMG_3983Why Artichoke?

Artichokes are chock full of nutrients that aren’t only good to eat, but also to put on your face. Artichokes contain something called glutathione, which is a nutrient know for its powerful anti-aging abilities. The YURI PIBU Artichoke Power Essence claims to tighten pores, lift sagging skin, and improve skin’s elasticity on top of providing nourishment, moisture, and smoothing effects to the skin.

The Verdict:

As with anything that falls somewhere between the toning step of a routine and a final moisture layer, the formulations of such products are usually stronger and more concentrated. That being said, I expect them to show some serious results. The fewer products I can use the better.

With the YURI PIBU essence, I saw an instant smoothing and plumping effect. My skin always looks naturally hydrated and this essence gives my skin a bit of an internal glow. However, after almost a whole bottle and twice daily application, I did not see any significant results in terms of tighter pores or firmness. Almost two months and no noticeable improvement to speak of. I like it as a light-weight moisturizer (its been such a lovely summer companion) and for the natural hydrated glow it lends after it absorbs, but I’ve personally seen better results from sheet masks (and at much, much lower price points).

All in all, this product didn’t do much other than give my face a natural, hydrated, glow despite the fact I’ve used over 90% of the bottle at this point. I was really hoping for a bit more. Its a good product and I *might* purchase it again for summer moisture-layering purposes if nothing else came along, but it doesn’t deliver the results I would want at its price.

Overall rating: 3-meh

Rating Scale:

1:Holy Snails! Its a Holy Grail!

2:Current-routine worthy (would buy again unless I found something better)

3:Meh, it was worth a try

4:Bleh, this was terrible. Don’t buy this. Ever.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

