Etude House I Need You! Hyaluronic Acid Sheet Mask Review

Etude House has really been on my radar lately ever since I saw their toast sponge/loofah thing with the strawberry jam body wash. I was too late to the game to snag myself one of those (ugh, I will forever be sorry), but I have been totally loving their I Need You sheet mask line.

Etude House generally markets towards younger audiences with cute and relatively inexpensive products. Their I Need You Sheet mask line is no exception. There is a huge selection of I Need You masks (somewhere between 20-25) that can be had for less than $2.00 a piece (minus shipping of course). Having gone through an entire 20 piece collection, I am very happy to say that ALL the masks in the line are very hydrating and brightening, giving me a glow that lasts all day. Most of the masks don’t go much beyond a high level of hydration, but some (like the Vita Complex and Silk Cocoon) were extra-brightening and smoothing.

Today, I reach the end of my I Need You collection and am finishing with the hyaluronic acid mask. I’d secretly been hoarding this one, having fallen in love with the smooth, plumping effects of my Its Skin Hyaluronic Acid toner. If a toner can do so much in so little time, what could a mask I leave on for 25 minutes do?IMG_4008

The ingredients list:

Water, butylene glycol, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, cetyl ethylhexanoate, dimethicone, citrus paradisi fruit extract, polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, clyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol,ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP copolymer, xanthan gum, ethylhexlglycerin, sodium polyacrylate, allantoin, hydrogenated polydecene, sodium hyaluronate, trideceth-6, camellia sinensis leaf extract, sophora angustifolia root extract, lonicere japonica flower extract, prunus persica leaf extract, paeonia albiflora root extract, ginko bilboa leaf extract, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, fragrance

The ingredients list for the I Need You line doesn’t generally place the “star ingredients” within the first five, BUT the end results of these sheet masks are exactly what you would want from a basic sheet mask (especially a 1.60$ one). Italicized ingredients could potentially cause acne for some. For a more detailed analysis, please visit CosDNA.

Ingredients of note:

Hyaluronic acid (sodium hyaluronate is the salt-form of hyaluronic acid) is this mask’s star ingredient. It’s something naturally found in the joints of the body and also in the eyes (super fun fact: to replace lost fluids, hyaluronic acid can be injected into the eyes during surgical procedures like cataract removal. It can also be used as a lip filler). In terms of skincare, hyaluronic acid is a humectant; its wonderful moisturizer that can reduce inflammation and help prevent moisture loss.

IMG_4011            Other ingredients of note include all those lovely plant extracts towards the end of the list. There is camellia sinensis leaf extract (antioxidant), sophora angustifolia root extract (has proven skin lightening effects), lonicere japonica flower extract (aka honeysuckle; has soothing and calming effects on skin), , prunus persica leaf extract (shows some promise against signs of aging) ,paeonia albiflora root extract ( anti-inflammatory, shows promise in healing wounds), ginko bilboa leaf extract (an anti-inflammatory, anti-microbial antioxidant that is UV-ray protective), and scutellaria baicalensis root extract (antioxidant, anti-inflammatory).

This is not a horrible list by any means. There are some pretty neat ingredients packed in there.

Behind the Mask:

One of the things I loved was the face coverage on this mask. It covered my entire face all the way to my hairline and to tuck a little under my chin. The eye openings are a nice size: big enough to cover most of the eye area, but not so small that essence keeps getting into the eyes or the edge of the mask cutting/butting up into the delicate skin in that area. My eye bags need all the help they can get! The nose area was a little wide in my opinion, but then again, who needs extra moisture in the crease where the side of the nostril meets the face (aka the Blackhead Crevice of Doom)?

Another thing I totally loved about all these I Need You sheet masks (and this one was no exception) is how saturated they are. They aren’t just damp; they literally drip with soaked in goodness. These masks require a pre and post game leftover essence tap in. It really is a whole bottle per pouch. The I Need You sheet masks have either a clear, thin-textured essence or, like with the hyaluronic acid mask, a thicker-feeling, white-colored creamier essence (it literally feels like the difference in textures between an essence and an emulsion-both deliver equal results though!).IMG_4009

The mask had a very subtle scent-just a clean “aqua” note that I barely noticed despite a piece of it being directly under my nose for 30 minutes. These masks are made of cotton so they generally dry out faster than hydrogel masks, but the I Need You masks are so soaked in essence, it takes a long time before the edges start to dry. I generally wear mine for about 20-30 minutes depending on how thirsty my face is.

The Results:

Like I mentioned earlier, these masks may seem like “just another cheap road shop” mask, but in terms of results, they offer pretty much everything you would want.

The essence absorbs into the skin very well. When I’ve taken off any I Need You sheet mask, the remaining essence on my face is easily patted in with very little residue. There is some slight stickiness (like with this mask), but after it is patted fully into the skin, all that is left is a little “barrier-feeling” to the surface of the skin (like a very, very light occlusive moisturizer). This goes away upon application of other products, but I personally think this thin film makes for even smoother make-up application (as I’ve been applying these in the morning).

After removing the mask, my skin was visibly plumper and smoother (plus the coolness from my chilling it in the fridge for 15 min helped in morning de-bloat). It was also hella softer. My dry, flaky, red bits (curtesy of my Curology prescription) had disappeared and the little army from the land of “Purge-atory” (again, prescription-grade actives) were much less red and inflamed. Hyaluronic acid is such a “classic” ingredient and offers such nice, instant effects. A war-zone face calmed to a truce in less than 30 minutes. I’d say those are some results! I just love these masks for their consistency, instant results, and their fun (the little doodles on the cover make me smile so wide I mess up my mask <3). IMG_4010

Overall rating: 1-I freaking love this mask line and would probably die if they ever discontinued it.

Rating Scale:

1:Holy Snails! Its a Holy Grail!

2:Current-routine worthy (would buy again unless I found something better)

3:Meh, it was worth a try

4:Bleh, this was terrible. Don’t buy this. Ever.

You can get the I Need You masks from Etude House or Amazon.*

*And (at least at the time of writing this post) I am not affiliated with either of these companies 🙂

4 comments

Leave a Reply

