Shine Bright Like a Diamond-SNP Diamond Brightening Ampoule Mask

Hey there! Today I tried a mask by SNP, a brand I hadn’t heard about until now. A quick google search showed positive things to say about them; they seem to be known for their bird’s nest products.

I’m not really for diamonds in skin care, especially for brightening purposes. Yes, they provide great exfoliation when done in professional treatments, but in daily care, I don’t see the need. In my opinion, diamond is really just marketing hype that allows companies to charge more for typical results. When used for brightening purposes (such as in this mask), the effect is temporary. Just like mica, diamond powder sits on the skin and scatters light, giving the illusion of brightness. I personally like permanent results.

What interested me in this mask was the niacinamide and 1,000 mg of sodium hyaluronate sitting pretty in the first five of the ingredients list. That is why I bought it (it was also on sale at Memebox so yeah).

1466006474868
Ingredients:

Water, glycerin, sodium hyaluronate (1000mg), niacinamide, alcohol, hydroxyl ethycellulose, polysorbate80, diamond powder (0.3 mg), prunus serotina (wild cherry) fruit extract, runica granatum fruit extract,vaccinium macrocarpon (cranberry) fruit extract, carbomer, triethanolamine, disodiumEDTA, phenoxy ethanol, flavor

The alcohol, triethanolamine, and such may be problematic for some, so please do not use if you have any sensitivities. Please see the CodDNA analysis for more info.

As for the diamond powder, I could care less. It’s listed as 0.3 mg. 0.3 mg of temporary effect.

The plant extracts probably aren’t present in high enough concentrations (less than 0.3 mg) to be even worth considering, but I researched them anyway, and frankly, none of them seem to have a lot of proof behind them. Cherry extract, while the fruit is good for you, it has no proven benefit in skin care and is mainly used for fragrance. Pomegranate and cranberry are both antioxidants and are anti-inflammatories.

Like I said earlier, it’s the lovely humectant sodium hyaluronate (aka hyaluronic acid) and the brightening niacinamide that make me like this mask.

While only two ingredients are really impressive to me, I do like how some of the “important” ingredients have weights listed by them (after 0.3 mg, you can tell that all that follows is even more microscopic in terms of formulation), but also that the colloquial names are given alongside the scientific names for the plant extracts. A nice touch indeed.

Under the Mask

Given my last masking experience (*cringe*), this was a total relief to apply. The mask material-can we talk about it for a second? It was freakin’ amazing. It had a lovely-feeling, super soft weave (not flat and pulpy or too coarse as some masks can be) and it was completely, deliciously soaked in a fruity smelling essence. It held onto my face very well and also could be worn well past the 20 minute mark. I love when masks are like this 🙂

So imagine this: it’s hot as hell outside and my AC may not be working as well as it should be at the moment. My skin is itching for some real moisture so I plop one of these sheet mask babies into the veggie crisper in my fridge and let it marinate there for a good 10 minutes or so. Fast forward to a cool, wet, mask that lays perfectly onto my skin, wrapping my entire face in a cold soft blanket that smells of citrus-y/summery things.

Yes, this is why I #sheetmask.

As a side note, I think it’s hilarious how the diamond and pearl masks by SNP are in the shiniest packaging ever. Did they do it on purpose?

1466006348933

 

The pic just looked too boring without these lil’devils

 


Results:

Ok, the actual sheet masking experience was great (albeit quite fruity-scented), but did anything happen?

This mask is obviously designed to brighten and moisturize and it did just that. Quite well. Sometimes the most basic and simplest of ingredients yield the best results. I applied this mask over a hot, blotchy face whose sole mission was to broadcast to the world, that yes, indeed, I was tired and somewhat hungover. Upon removal of the mask, that message had been taken off the air, and my face was smooth, soft, and much brighter. It had that nice “lit from within/I woke up like this” glow going on and the cold of the fridge helped de-bloat my cheeks/eye bags and minimize my face craters, er, pores. In short, it’s definitely a “cut above” (haha) the typical sheet mask.

I would definitely recommend this mask before big events, rough days, and hangover recovery. It’s simple, but highly effective, and maybe the whole diamonds thing is more appealing to others than it is to me. If the weather is oven-like where you are, just pop one of your sheet masks into the fridge for 5 minutes or so and then try it and feel the difference. Total heaven. It not only feels amazing, but the chill helps slim the face, de-puff, and can help minimize visible pores.

My face was in pretty rough shape, but 30 minutes with this mask, and I looked brand-spanking-new. I think I’ll be keeping a few on hand, especially during the winter months to help combat redness and give me back my glow.

Overall Rating: 2.5 (will be buying a using for quite some time)

1-Holy Snails! Its a Holy Grail!

2-Current-routine-worthy (would buy again unless I found something better)

3-Meh, it was worth a try

4-Bleh, this was terrible. Don’t buy it. Ever.)

(5-May it join the Mela-mask in the flames of hell and BURN!)

Leave a Reply

