Beauty Buy-and-Try: August

Now that we are a few days into August, I figured it would be a good time to share some products that I’m super stoked to try out this month. I’m trying some new (to me) makeup and skincare this month, and am hoping my risks will pay off in some new favorites.
From a recent trip to Sephora, I picked up an eye cream by First Aid Beauty (aka FAB) whose title seemed to promise the sort of moisture my eye area regularly craves, but my usual non-eye-cream wearing self never gives. Its called the Eye Duty Triple Remedy Overnight Balm; I like that I won’t have to worry about putting makeup over it (I’ve actually had a few bad experiences with this), and can just wake up to nicer eyes 🙂

I also picked up a new, lighter foundation for those days when I don’t want to commit to a full face of makeup. What’s neat about the Bare Minerals’ Bare Skin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation is that the foundation is literally a serum. It is very emollient in texture and super sheer. I may have cheated a little and already used it once as a primer in my Veronica Lake makeup tutorial (skin was super dry that day and I was out of a decent primer to properly deal with it…creativity comes when you’re in a pinch, am I right?), but I have yet to actually wear it as a true foundation, let alone out and about on a day-to-day basis. It is ridiculously hydrating (emollient). It may be too sheer for my all my PIH, but we will see. If anything, it seems to be a good primer for winter skin 😉

The Cloud 9 Blanc de Whitening Cream by Claire’s has been a product I’ve been dying to try. I can’t really tell you why as I’m as pale as a sheet of computer paper, but I’ve heard really great things about it evening and brightening skin tone over time with consistent use (while providing instant results)…that pale glow y’all. In actuality, I more just want it to help lighten up my various foundations and such. I’ve reached a shade that very few foundations will actually match. Perhaps this will help lighten them up?

Color correcting is something I’m still on the fence about. I do color correct around my dark circles as nothing really works around that area except salmon colored things, but green on pimples is still kind of iffy for me. I didn’t really want to commit to a full color correcting palette or a legitimate green concealer, so I compromised with this green One Step Face Base by Babyface. The packaging may have had a lot to do with it 🙂

Digging into my waning sample stash, I found a packet of Blithe’s Patting Water Pack in Energy Yellow Citrus and Honey that I got from an order placed several months ago. You have to mix it with water and splash/pat it all over your face. Having to find a big enough bowl and place to make a splashy mess don’t make it the most accessible sample to use in the world. Needless to say, I have been really wanting to see if it works. Let me know if you’d like a video or review on it. I, at least, think its pretty cool and have gotten myself super excited to try it!

What beauty products have you been into recently?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

