The Pikachu Hair Cure

This week’s Beauties on Fire voted theme was Pokemon! Don’t forget to vote on next week’s poll via Twitter πŸ™‚

Does your hair look like you’ve recently hugged a Pikachu (or just stuck a fork into an electrical socket)? Read on to learn how to combat frizz even on the worst of hair days!

image
Know Your Opponent

image

Frizz is caused by a lack of moisture (aka dry hair). The cuticle opens up as hair dries out to let the moisture from the outside air in. So overly dry or humid air can trigger this reaction. If your hair is chemically processed, very fine/curly, or is subjected to frequent hot tool styling, then your hair is going to be drier and more naturally frizz prone.

image

Train for Battle

Making sure your hair is properly hydrated (just like your body or skin), is going to be the most effective plan of attack.

image
Here are the essential  weapons you’re going to need in your toolbox for frizz-free hair, all day, everyday:
image
Sulfate-free shampoo helps to not strip hair of moisture

image-Regular deep conditioning treatments ensure your strands are getting the hydration and care they need. Applying it to the bottom 2/3 of your hair and letting it sit 5-10 minutes will not only intensely smooth and soften your hair, but, since it’s not applied at the roots, it won’t weigh your hair down in the process.

image
-Ditch any hair product containing alcohol as alcohol dehydrated hair and can leave it brittle.

image-Carrying around dry oil or lightweight styling wax/cream can help you navigate the day with perfect hair. When you notice it beginning to frizz up, just smooth hair back down with a little moisture (even hand cream can be used in a pinch).

Learn Some New Moves

image

-Wait to blow dry until your hair is 80-90% dry. The direct heat dries out hair…which leads to you know what!

image-Just like you would your face, don’t rub hair with a towel. Gently wrong out excess water, then wrap up in a towel to let it absorb the rest.

image
-When hair is damp, apply a leave-in conditioner (or even a lightweight hand cream or lotion!) to the ends of your hair as that area tends to be the driest and most frizz prone.

image
-Start experimenting with heat-free styling methods. There are so many ways to get beautiful curls or smooth strands without the blow drier or iron of choice!

image-If your hair is wavy/curly, or just very fine or brittle, finger comb out of the shower, and avoid brushing hair while very wet. For wavy-curly hair, brushing while dry can create a frizzy mess. Make sure you finish brushing hair when 80-90% dry; finger comb instead as it is much gentler than just tearing a brush through your hair!

Gotta Catch ‘Em All…flyaways that is!

image

-Try using a dry oil (like Argan oil) or alcohol-free hair wax warmed up between your palms to help smooth hair and unwanted fly-always after blow drying.

image
-An old toothbrush sprayed with hairspray is a super easy to smooth rouge baby hair and frizz away.

image
And remember, any bad hair day can be disguised under a hat!

image

Now you can relax and enjoy life-frizz free!

Click on the image above to be taken to the main page for all the other posts!
*All Pokemon Images/GIF from Giphy!

18 comments

  1. Omgsh this is awesome girl! I totally love how you did a hair post! AMAZING!! Love all the GIFs too!! I love using a toothbrush to tame my frizz. That is such an awesome trick! I really love all your tips and will totally be using them! Got to love hats too!! Great job girl!! I am beyond impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post!!!
    My hair is totally frizzy! I’ve tried not to wash it as often but I see no change so I guess my next step is to change my shampoo lol. I do use oils and I haven’t used heat tools in MONTHS. I guess my hair is naturally frizzy but I will do my darn best to follow a routine and see if anything changes. *fingers crossed*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My hair is super dry and recently I got so fed up with having bad hair days all the time, I just kept it conditioned around the clock…like hand lotion and straight conditioner while it was dry. Hair turned around in like 3 days and is super soft and happy now. I hope you can find what works for you! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do have a leave in conditioner. I’ll give that a shot. My friend also told me to use coconut oil. Idk why I always forget that I can use coconut oil for EVERYTHING! Lol.
        I’m glad your hair turned around though! Let’s hope mine does too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so helpful oh my gosh! I have really thick hair so I’m really glad I read this post! I didn’t know it was lack of hydration that makes your hair frizzy, Thankyouxo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

