Skincare Superheroes

Hi there everyone! 

Welcome to what will probably be the saddest ever installment on my end of the Beauties on Fire Collab! This week’s voted theme was superheroes/villains. You can expect a lot of really amazing, cool posts this week (as is the case with every week tbh) so be sure to click the picture link at the bottom of this post!

After 7 days and counting with zero power (ZERO POWER!!!) in the aftermath of Hurricane  Hermine, every ounce of my being is needing to be rescued right now.

It’s 100% hot, humid, miserable, and wifi-free. And I’m pretty sure I might actually be dying…I *know* that my positive attitude sure has passed on.

Needless to say (as I type this with the last few nuggets of my LTE data plan), my skin is in a state of Total Panic (and it really, really, shows despite the free “sauna treatment” my apartment and the weather have been sponsoring).

These superhero products have been standing strong in the face of great (first world) adversity. They have been what’s keeping my skin (and me) sane:

Cleanser

Let’s just take a moment to appreciate how kick-a** cleansing really is…I never realized how much I overlooked this step until now!

While I may not have a lick of heated water, sub-zero showers don’t mean I’m okay with bathing in my own sweat (curse you Florida!). Cleansing has become the best part of my current (and very truncated) routine because it’s the only time I actually feel remotely clean at the moment.

Right now, I’ve swapped out my typical CosRX cleanser in favor of a more acne busting one: Skinfood’s Tea Tree cleanser.

Its cooling, doesn’t dry my skin out too much, and is deliciously creamy. I’ve been letting it sit for 5 minutes or so just to savor that amazing feeling foam. 

TonyMoly Tomatox Massage Pack

The packaging has been making me smile, a rare occurrence  this week, and I can give my skin a boost through facial massage. I love that this doubles as a moisturizing mask. After massaging your skin, leaving it on for 10-15 minutes helps brighten, tighten, and smooth. All things I need right now. Like, A LOT.

CosRX Snail 96 Serum

Snail=sanity…’nuff said.

Water

This isn’t exactly a tangible skin product, but probably the most important thing saving my skin’s behind right now.

Water is good for your body, both inside and out. It helps your body function at its very best which translates into good news for your skin.

Plus when you’re properly hydrated, you don’t look as tired or old. 

Washing your face in cold water can also help boost blood flow to the face, giving your skin a nice glow (I tell myself this as the water from my shower knocks the wind out of me it’s so ridiculously cold).

For me, water is keeping me from dying of heat stroke first and foremost. On the other hand, no power means no hot water, so Artic Circle cold showers mean my hair is much shinier than usual and I’ve got some impressive skin circulation going on…to go with the sweat detox I’m currently experimenting with-a treatment I’m not sure I’d recommend.

Sheet Masks

My salad crisper drawer stash of these guys is literally the only thing in my fridge that has survived at this point. While they aren’t exactly cold, they are still under 90 degrees Fahrenheit so I just keep slapping them on to keep cool(ish). 

I’ve blown through my stash of charcoal/black detox masks these past few days. It’s been really helping to keep bigger spots at bay and at stopping pimples in their tracks. The Leaders Pore Stamping sheet mask has been a total Godsend and the TroubleX mask is definitely a new favorite I need to stock up on in my next haul.

And of course, all my Botanic Farm  fruit masks and Innisfree It’s Real masks are reaching record low numbers as well. While I’m chugging down water to stay hydrated on the inside, they’re keeping my face hydrated on the outside.

It’s kind of funny to see the parts of my routine that I’m reaching for  the most right now. It’s so hot that my army of moisturizers simply cannot be used (that’s well over 80% of my daily routine). 

If you wound up in a major power outage, what would you be reaching for? What are your superhero products?

For less whiny, more awesome Beauties on Fire posts, visit the link below-the picture will take you there!

PS: More regular blog/social media activity will resume once my personal wifi/power goes back up. I’ve been trying really hard to keep up with everything (mainly reading your posts!) with what little Internet I can find around town. Thanks for bearing with me everyone; I love and appreciate you all! 💕

7 comments

  1. I am so sorry girl!! Prayers your way as you all deal with the aftermath of the Hurricane. I am glad you are okay. I really love your unique spins on the themes. I always love reading what you come up with. I love TonyMoly masks!! They really are life-savors for the skin. And I totally agree water is such a must!! Sheet masks are the best invention ever!! I really hope you start feeling better and I will be praying for you!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hope everything is okay after the hurricane.
    On the other hand, I’m with you on the skin issue. I’m breaking out badly and I feel like I’m doing everything right lol. There are a few things I could do more of though so thanks for the tips/reminders 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for reading! Sometimes I feel like just giving up on my skin and seeing what it’ll do on its own without me dedicating years of my life to its needs. 🙄I have to say that sheet mask marathons are 99.9% of the time a great idea for skin gone crazy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

