Top 5 Essential Fall Skincare Products|My Sample Fall Skin Routine

Hello all and hello fall! 


With cooler weather already here, it’s important to make sure you and your skin are fully prepared for the chillier months. 

I’ve put together my top 5 essential fall skincare product picks and also a sample fall skincare routine that includes not only my personal products, but my rationale for each choice as well in this post.

Enjoy and Happy Fall Y’all!

***

This week’s Beauties on Fire collaboration theme is fall and I could not be happier…even though it’s still in the 90’s here in Florida. Gotta love that crisp fall air from the Gulf of Mexico!

We are always accepting new members so please join us if you want to belong to a fun, supportive,  and diverse blogging group. We have gone way beyond just a “basic collab,” now providing blog/blog post promotion, blogging help, discussion on weekly beauty/fashion/blogging topics…and literally so much more I physically can’t list it all here.

You can also vote on next week’s theme via Twitter.

Last week, I saw a really cute fall tag post on Emily Mae’s blog that totally got me in the autumnal spirit (not that I need any help with that of course…look at this intro if you need further proof). 

It reminded me of how much I love fall for all the basic reasons: the fashion, the food, the pumpkins, the holidays, the certain Starbucks beverage that’s over 5$ a pop, but also reminded me of how much I love it when my skincare routine gets super exciting with even more layers (like the clothes) and how I can get all sorts of nerdy and creative with my chronic overspending at Memebox and Amazon. (Yes, I am 100% completely aware I have a problem and need urgent help).

I could honestly go on and on (and on and on) about how and why I love fall so so much, and how I wish it were the only season to exist, but my Ode to Fall would be longer than an unabridged copy of Les Miserables, and frankly, I care about you all enough to not do that to you😰

I tried to make this post as helpful as possible, and if you have any questions, concerns, or love/hate, please let me know in the comments below (you know the drill). 

**My Top 5 Essential Fall Products**


1) An Effective Exfoliator

I personally like to keep both a chemical and physical exfoliator on hand at all times. Since I have dry skin, I like to use a gentle chemical exfoliator 2-3 times per week to keep my skin as soft and smooth as possible, then I use a physical exfoliator 2-3 per month (basically as-needed) to banish any flaky patches and do some heavy duty exfoliating work.
I also just love having the best of both worlds: the awesome fun of watching your dead skin ball up and fall off, then the lovely clean feeling of a good old fashioned scrub.

2) A Glow-getter
As skin dries out between the effects of cold weather and indoor heating, it can become dull and lifeless, making you look older and more tired than you actually are. To counteract these undesirable effects, add in products with glow-inducing ingredients like:

-propolis

-yeast ferment filtrates

-rice

-glycolic acid

-kojic acid

-vitamin c

-azelaic acid

-niacinamide

-arbutin

(To only name a few)

The drier you skin tends to get, the more products with glow-boosting ingredients you’ll want. So for someone with oily skin and a healthy moisture barrier, maybe one product will do the trick. If your skin is naturally dry like mine, it might take 2 or more products to achieve that natural-looking inner glow.

3) Sunscreen 

Even though the days may be getting shorter, it doesn’t mean anyone gets to start slacking on this step (insert typical Kbeauty sun damage fear mongering here). Given the drier weather, finding a formulation without alcohol can help offset unnecessary drying effects.

4) A Trusty Sleeping Pack

If you want to truly say you woke up like this, include a sleeping pack in your routine

As full-blown winter approaches (for those reading this who actually experience seasons unlike where I live), having a tried and true sleeping pack (or a heavy, preferably occlusive moisturizer) to fall back on when your skin starts to get uncomfortably dry will become something you don’t know how you managed without. 

5) A Heavy Hitting Daily Moisturizer

It doesn’t really matter if it’s *technically* a moisturizer, serum, ampoule, or something else; what matters is that it consistently gives your skin the amount of hydration, nourishment, and protection it needs. 

It will probably be the final layer of a routine, and somewhat occlusive (think of a sleeping pack’s lighter cousin meant for daily use). It should seal in anything applied underneath, and protect your skin from water loss. 

**A Sample Fall Morning Weather Routine**


I don’t use the same products every day, preferring to reach for whatever my skin needs that day (using my skintuition, eh?), so this is by no means my full, actual routine (as I really don’t have one, just a slew of possible products to apply any given morning or evening), but rather a possible routine I might use.

Exfoliate (Optional)

If my skin is looking rough with any signs of dryness (I have a 100% flake-free policy), I’ll use a gentle chemical exfoliant like Cure Natural Aqua Gel to start the day off with a clean (smooth) slate.

Cleanse

I never skip a good cleansing session using my trusty CosRX Good Morning Low pH foaming cleanser. Because of its lower pH, it won’t further dry my skin by stripping it of (what little) moisture my skin already has.

Smooth

After patting my face dry, I apply straight up galactomyces ferment filtrate (currently using Ramosu’s version, but will be trying out an actually-labeled-as-a-first-treatment-essence-FTE soon) to my face to help smooth out texture, provide nourishment and moisture, and most importantly, deliver some glow.

Tone

I like to use a hydrating toner next to prep my skin for the oncoming layers of moisture. Right now, I’m currently liking the Hyaluronic Acid toner by Its Skin, but want to try their collagen version once I run out. If I’m broken out/feel some spots coming on, I typically use Papa Recpie’s Trouble AC toner. It helps the issue without being too drying.

**This part forward of my routine tends to be the most variable for those who may be curious**

Treat

-D’ran Wonder Tea Tree essence: to prevent spots and lighten scars/PIH.

-CosRX Propolis Light Ampoule: this guy is just getting introduced into my routine (how I love testing out new things!), and so far the results are pretty instantaneous. If all continues to go well over the next 2 weeks, it will be a “glow” product in my collection/hoard.

Moisturize

-Goodal Murumuru Hydraseed Serum: I knew I loved this stuff, but had forgotten exactly how much I freakin love it until It arrived at my doorstep again. It’s incredibly nourishing and protective and I am so glad it’s back in my routine again. One of my favorite winter products. 

-CosRX Advanced Snail 96 Serum: this stuff is a total cure-all. I think I’ve ranted enough on this blog how much I love it already.

-If my skin has gone super-dry on me, I might add an extra moisturizer on top like the Broccoli Clearing Lotion by Innisfree, or something like Scinic’s Snail Matrix Cream.

Seal

-To seal everything in, I like to layer on CosRX’s Brightening Rice Overnight Spa Mask, or Etude House Moistful Collagen Cream. It keeps all my hard work locked in while helping protect my skin from moisture loss due to the cold, or moreso, indoor heating.

Protect

And no proper skin routine would be complete without sunscreen. I generally wait a few minutes after applying my final skincare step to allow it to fully absorb, then apply my sunscreen, wait another 5 minutes minimum, and then apply any makeup. It may seem annoying to wait, but frankly, I just do my hair or eat breakfast, that sort of thing while it sinks in.

This is what a typical fall routine might look for me. I’m typically indoors so I worry most about the artificial heating sapping moisture from my skin (hence lots of hydrating layers and a heavy-handed application of an occlusive barrier).

Cold weather can be really hard on the skin, so the more damage you can prevent, the better.


What’s your favorite thing about fall? Bonus points if it’s related to skincare 😊

***

And, of course, this post wouldn’t be complete without the Beauties on Fire link-up. If you’d like to read more 🍁fall-themed posts🍁, just click on the picture to be taken to the main page 🎃

8 comments

  1. First, I had to say…I LOVE what you said about the group. You worded it perfect!!! You’re the best girl!!

    I have dry skin too and an exfoliator is definitely a must! Have you tried the SkinFood Strawberry mask? Omgsh it is amazing girl!!! It is a mask and an exfoliator in one and I LOVE It!

    I totally agree that you NEED to wear sunscreen all year long. I also totally bump up my moisturizer game in the fall. I use thicker moisturizers because the weather kills my skin haha!

    That is such a great morning routine!! You are rocking it in skincare girl (totally changed from last’s week post right…HAHA). You went from extreme to queen!!!

    Like

  2. Such a great post! My skin’s been acting up and very oily for the past month or so, but I got my first flaky dry patch of the season today. I love all these points, and the fact that you went through a possible morning routine is awesome! The toner for problem skin you mentioned sounds great!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You can get SO creative. But also lazy too. Under a coat, no one knows if you’re still in your pajama shirt 😂 true story!
        I’m so hokey as to why I love fall…it’s the cozy spirit of fall for me! All year I look forward to snuggling up in lots of plaid layers and scarves, carving pumpkins while sipping cider, going on hayrides, roasting marshmallows over a fire in the fireplace…and pumpkin pie. Definitely pumpkin pie 😅

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

