Why I Got Into Korean Skin Care

Hello my lovely readers!

I briefly touched on this topic in my first post ever (click here if you dare. Gosh, the embarrassment), but I never really elaborated on the why’s of my deep love for Korean skin care. Out of all the possible hobbies to have chosen to really and truly love in this life, I picked this thing of all things. Does it make any sense to you? Because it makes zero sense to me! So, in short, this is why I’m hooked for life:

  1. Hands down, it is the only thing that has ever really worked for my skin because it’s gotten down to the roots of my problems vs masked the side effects.
  2. The packaging is either gorgeously elegant or super cute, and either way I want to stare at it and use it every morning and night for the remainder of my adult life. Etude House will forever have my soul.
  3. Prevention is the best cure. Like, duh, why did I not put two and two together when I was using Windex and toothpaste in my teen years? Thank God I mainly stayed indoors and didn’t tan. This makes so much more sense than the American deal-with-it-as-it-comes approach.
  4. Its so affordable. Even with shipping, you can get so much bang for your buck in terms of quality and quantity. Not to mention all those wonderful freebies and samples.
  5. There is an infinite supply of super weird, super amazing products that the U.S. has never heard of…sheet masks? facial mists? cleansing balls? What about all the cool, unique ingredients? It’s a skin care junkie’s dream. I can experiment all I want and barely feel guilty about it!
  6. It’s discovery came to me at a point in my life when I was really struggling. It was my hardest semester of college, I was balancing waaaaaaaay too many difficult (and in hindsight, stupid) things on my plate, lots of drama in both my work and home life, several really expensive and really awful health problems, you name it, it was happening. Quite frankly, everything just sucked (in a first world problem kind of way). Finding something that sparked some long lost inspiration and a nudged me towards self-care was a total blessing for my burnout. The Korean skin philosophy created a small sliver of order in all the chaos that was going on around me. It made me look better, made me feel better. It gave me something to calm me down in the evenings and something to invigorate me in the mornings. Putting that 30 minutes aside everyday to just focus on taking care of myself helped pull me back to a place of empowerment where I could make the changes I needed to to get my life not to just where I wanted it to be, but surpass those expectations as well. In full honesty, no tub of face cream, Korean brand or not, will magically fix your life and make you happy, but the dedication to your face and yourself that the extensive Korean method requires can be advantageous to those between a rock and a hard place. At least, that’s how it worked for me 😅

Needless to say, the Korean routine has done a heck of a lot for me, and I hope if you dare go down the Korean path and risk becoming as obsessed as me, it is everything I find it to be and more. My love for it was a major motivating factor for when I first started the Skintuition beauty blog.

Has something beauty ever gotten you hook, line, and sinker before? Real Technique’s beauty blenders don’t count 😉

7 comments

  1. I’ve mentioned before that I’m more into Japanese skincare. The first thing that converted me was cleansing oils. I never would have believed that an OIL would be so good for my skin! I thought I needed the harshest foaming gel I could get my hands on…
    I also really appreciate how pH level is a big concern – I had never considered that prior to getting into Asian skincare.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The care and time that both cultures put into skincare just blow my mind when I look at the Western 3 trick pony! Seriously, just like another person, the more you work with vs against it and are nice to it, the more it will work with you as well. Wish I had know this so much sooner!
      And pH has made such a difference for me as well. Can’t wait till more options are available!

      Like

  2. I’ve used rice water to remove my make up. It doesn’t really suite my skin. I prefer Banilla CO. Have you tried using it? I do love Asian products too. I definitely believe their products are more gentle to the skin vs American products.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

