Etude House Bubble Tea Sleeping Pack: What Happens When You Buy Skincare Based on its Packaging

It’s no secret that Etude House’s packaging brings me (and my wallet) to my knees. But that’s about it. With the exception to their Moistful Collagen line, I have yet to find more than an handful of products by them whose formulation is worthy of repurchase. From their makeup to their skincare, I buy based on looks alone, knowing I’ll be smiling at it every morning while reaching for something else.

That being said, the bubble tea sleeping pack gets a holy grail for cuteness, but two thumbs down for actual product.

image

It was surprisingly smaller than I had expected…

I knew going in that this product would 99.9% not be anything mind-blowingly amazing for my skin, but went ahead and purchased the pink, “strawberry” flavor meant for moisturizing dry skin. There is also a green tea version meant to help with acne and oiliness, as well as  a black tea one to help with firmness.

The product itself is a pink that would make Elle Woods swoon, and smells like “strawberries” as well (as in the chemical attempt at strawberries fresh from farm to table).

image

The bubbles in the bubble tea are a majorly cute selling point, but a total pain in the butt in real life. They are supposed to be broken and mixed in with the moisturizer, but they are super hard to squash open, and they don’t mix in much with the lotion, so when applying it, chunks of bubble wind up stuck in your eyebrows or drying on your cheek. It’s gross to say the least. Especially because of the dark brown color. At least this is meant to be worn at night where not too many will see you with “bubble tea face.”๐Ÿ˜… 

And for something meant for intensive dry skin care, this doesn’t moisturize much more than a regular hydrating toner or emulsion. The first night of testing, I applied this in lieu of my regular nighttime routine (like you can with most sleeping packs), and the next morning, my skin looked as if I hadn’t done anything the night before. Next night, same thing. Not okay.

I gave my skin a night of recovery, then applied the sleeping pack over my routine the night after. The next morning, no added hydration, plumpness, smoothness, or anything remotely resembling the common effects of a sleeping pack. Didn’t even seem to help seal in my other products.

Even when demoted to a regular, daily moisturizer, it’s effects are limited, if not non-existent. Pretty much, this product has been totally worthless in terms of my dry skin routine. I have toners-TONERS- that moisturize just as well as this supposed “sleeping pack.” (Sorry, Etude House ๐Ÿ˜ข)

image

One perk is how the spoon attached directly to the lid-I need more of this is my life!

All in all, I wasn’t expecting much from the actual product itself, but this was a bit worse than what I had braced myself for. My skin has needs that this product certainly doesn’t meet like I’ve come to expect a sleeping pack to. At least it didn’t cause any breakouts or irritation! Frankly, I just love looking at this thing on my vanity, and am racing to use up the product so I can find a better use for the cuteness…maybe it can house all my other plastic spoons I use to scoop out products that actually work ๐Ÿ˜œ

Well, now my feet, elbows, and knees are getting some bubble tea action because this stuff certainly doesn’t belong on my face…

The Verdict:

In terms of looks:

1-Holy Grail…cuz bubble tea is just too dang cute!

In terms of actual product:

3-a solid “meh.” Definitely won’t be repurchasing for the product (but gosh I love the cup container and could surely use one in every color lol!) Maybe the other “flavors” are better, but I highly doubt it. Right now, it’s a hella cute foot cream for me ๐Ÿ™‚

I hear that many people love their bubble tea sleeping packs-are you one of them? What flavor do you have?

12 comments

  1. Aw sucks that it didn’t perform – sometimes Korean brands surprise you! The packaging is cute but then the added bonus is that the product inside is really good too. Too bad this wasn’t the case…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

